Search just our sites by using our customised site search engine

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

The Prairie Provinces
Chapter XVI. The Present North-West Territories and the Yukon

Since September 1st, 1905, the North-West Territories include the vast unorganized districts of Franklin, Keewatin, Mackenzie and Ungava.

The North-West Territories are under the control of an executive officer called the Commissioner of the North-West Territories, who administers the government under such instructions as may be given him from time to time by the Governor in Council or by the Minister of the Interior. The Governor in Council may appoint a number of persons, not exceeding four, to aid the commissioner in the discharge of his duties. The Commissioner has the same powers to make ordinances for the government of the Territories as were vested in the Lieutenant Governor in Council of the old North-West Territories.

The district of Keewatin, which was formerly under the administration of the Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba, was in 1905 re-annexed to the North-West Territories and made subject to the same government and laws as the Territories.

The Royal North-West Mounted Police force, maintained by the Dominion Government, is the chief instrument employed in the administration of the Territories and in the enforcement of the law.

The Yukon Territory was created in the year 1898. It is governed by a Commissioner appointed by the Governor in Council. He administers the government of the Territory under such instructions as he may receive

from time to time from the Governor in Council or from the Minister of the Interior. The Governor in Council may appoint a number of persons, not exceeding six, to be a Council to aid the Commissioner in the administration of the Territory. These members hold office for two years, and before being appointed must take the oaths of allegiance and of office.

The Governor in Council has certain defined powers respecting the election of members to the Council. He may also make ordinances for the government of the Territory respecting various matters, such as taxation, liquor traffic, municipal institutions, administration of justice, expenditure of money, and generally all such matters as are of a local or private nature, and are for the peace, order and good government of the Territory. He also continues to have all the powers vested in the Governor in Council under the North-West Territories Act.

Provision was also made for the passing of ordinances respecting education and for the establishment of schools. Copies of all ordinances passed were to be mailed to the Secretary of State for Canada within ten days after the passing of same. These were to be laid before both houses of parliament, and might be disallowed any time within two years.

The laws and ordinances in force in the Territories in 189S were, so far as applicable, continued in the Yukon, unless repealed by the Parliament of Canada.

The Yukon Territory is at present represented in the House of Commons by one member.

Return to Book Index Page

This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus