Search just our sites by using our customised site search engine

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

The Prairie Provinces
Chapter XV. Saskatchewan and Alberta

On the 1st of September, 1905, the two acts establishing and providing for the government of the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta came into force. These were called respectively the Saskatchewan Act and the Alberta Act.

The Province of Saskatchewan was to include the territory lying between Manitoba and the fourth meridian, in the system of Dominion land surveys, and extending from the international boundary line 011 the south to the sixtieth degree of north latitude. Alberta was to include the territory lying between Saskatchewan and British Columbia and extending as in Saskatchewan from the international boundary line to the sixtieth degree of north latitude. In extent the two provinces arc nearly equal. Saskatchewan contains 250,650 square miles, and Alberta 253,540 square miles. According to the last census, taken on June 24th, 190G, the population of Saskatchewan was 257,703, that of Alberta 185,412. By reason of the great tide of immigration at present setting in, the next census will undoubtedly see a marked increase in the population of both provinces.

According to both acts all laws and ordinances in force in the North-West Territories were vested in the Lieutenant Governors of both provinces, with the advice of the respective executive councils. These laws and ordinances were subject to change by the legislatures of the provinces. A Legislature was given to each, consisting of a Lieutenant Governor and a Legislative Assembly. Provision was made by which the Legislative Assembly of both provinces should consist of twenty-five members to be elected to represent the electoral divisions defined in the Acts. Annual subsidies were to be given each province, and these were to be paid by half-yearly instalments in advance. The assets of the North-West Territories were to be divided equally between the two provinces, and they were to be equally responsible for the debts of the North-West Territories. Since the establishment of the provinces, there have already been held three sessions in each, and many statutes of great importance have been passed.

By a statute of the Assembly in Saskatchewan, the representation for the province has been increased from twenty-five to forty-one. Saskatchewan is represented in the Federal Parliament at Ottawa by four senators and six members of the House of Commons; Alberta, by four senators and four members of the House of Commons. Provision, however, has been made by which Saskatchewan shall be represented in the Parliament of Canada by ten members of the House of Commons, and Alberta by seven.

Return to Book Index Page

This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus