Search just our sites by using our customised site search engine

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

Click here to learn more about MyHeritage and get free genealogy resources

A map of the province of Upper Canada 1836

Describing all the new settlements, townships, & cc. with the countries adjacent, from Quebec to Lake Huron : compiled from the original documents in the Surveyor General's office Creator: Wyld, James, 1812-1887 Date: 1836

After the American Revolution, many British Loyalists left their homes in the thirteen colonies and moved to Canada, settling in the region north of Lakes Erie and Ontario and south of the Ottawa River. By 1791, the province of Quebec was divided into Upper and Lower Canada as depicted on this 1836 map. Lower Canada remained an area of French culture and settlement, but Upper Canada became a center for British settlement as reflected in the transplanting of place names from England especially for counties or districts -- London, Globe, Midland, Norfolk, New Castle, Northumberland, and York. In addition, the subdivision of counties into townships with rectangular shapes followed an American pattern instituted in western New York State in the 1790s, also shown on this map. With the establishment of the Dominion of Canada in 1867, Upper Canada became Ontario and Lower Canada was again known as Quebec.

Return to our General History Page


This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.